Interesting form of RP.. What do you think?

Posted: 2014.01.07 in Roleplay
Tags: , , , , ,

I get bored sometimes at work so i surf blogs… Have to pass time somehow when nothing is going on and well that is kinda a good thing in my field means everything is working properly.. So i enjoy reading blogs see if anything has been written on my time in Secondlife Gor. Sooo i come across something from Forest Moon tribe… Though till recently we have been banned they show in my mind why SL gor and Roleplay sucks… Read this following statement its quoted i give the author their dues.. Link to the full post

In the SL Gor world of interactive role play, it is considered bad form to “think” negative thought emotes about another player.   Why?  Because every word you type has to be read by everyone else involved, and if it does not bring anything of value to the setting/story, then it is a waste.  Insults that cannot be acted upon provide only frustration.

Ok.. So not only to mention that this was done by a forest moon, of which if you read some the rps you will find.. strange.. safe even? Gorean questionable??? Well im not going to knock on someones RP like i said last time gor is too safe it feels safer than reality we truely need to rid the security blanket mentality.. Back to this statement.. I find it terrible idea when one role plays…

When you role-play in essence your writing a story, a book… In order to get involved in a book you need to know what the characters are thinking do you knot? If im going to roleplay a character.. Lets say a humble peasant lady that works in the fields.. Some elegant lady that i have an acquaintance with strolls by daily.. at one point or another the “reader” has to know how the humble peasant feels about the lady.. If the writer doesnt point out from time to time how would the reader know? below are examples… since i write in sl i will use the standard “/me” three posts one each way..

/me walks along on the side of the road carrying my basket of goods as i give the elegant lady a soft nod as i walk by giving a simple “hello” as we pass. I continue on my beaten path

 

/me sits down at the table far end noticing the elegant lady as i simply give a smile then continue to eat my meal

/me grabs my coat as i ready to leave for the day opening the door i see the elegant lady walk past i calmly say “have a good night” before heading out the door to head home..

Now.. This is obviously without any emotion.. Reading this without reading anything else ever how would you feel the peasant felt about this elegant lady? There is really not thought or emotion… Obviously the peasant isnt going to say “hello snob”. We are human afterall the peasant probably isnt of equal class to the elegant lady.. Now while you wouldnt want to emote someone being a snob “EVERY” post. From time to time you should so some emotions.. We cannot be robots have no feelings emotions.. To me this would be correct.. Same three posts

/me walks along on the side of the road carrying my basket of goods as i give the elegant lady a soft nod as i walk by giving a simple “hello” as we pass. I continue on my beaten path

 

/me sits down at the table far end noticing the elegant lady as i simply give a smile then continue to eat my meal.

 

/me grabs my coat as i ready to leave for the day opening the door i see the elegant lady walk past me thinking she was quite a snobby bitch today i calmly say least wanting tobe proper “have a good night” before heading out the door to head home..

Well as you can see in my last post a change.. This is not the best example but now the reader knows how the peasant feels.. Now before you get on me there is a lot of context missing…things the elegant lady wasnt here… Bad form would be to simply emote thinking the elegant lady was a snobby bitch with no reason at all then again supopsedly nobody would need a reason to not like somebody.. Obviously if the elegant lady was off flaunting her elegance getting the peasant to do somewhat humiliating gestures she might gain a feeling of this elegant lady is a snobby bitch.. So my question is you as the reader how would you know or ever know that the peasant dislikes this elegant lady unless they somehow show it though thought. We obviously dont have voice or can show physical emotions you have to act out with words… If your playing in character as we all should be you should show thoughts and emotions otherwise other players reading will never know your emotions.. Obviously if your going to state a simple cold hard fact you think someone is a bitch that is silly and wrong… If its something that happend a day ago or week ago its wrong.. i would agree but if its in the content of the role play you need to show emotion we aren’t robots!

Anyways enuff ranting.. I will be getting a short revenge later i think and more to come!

<3’s

Niccole

 

Comments
  1. python13579 says:

    I was passing along my reader and came upon this and thought I might like to discuss it. Now, you have a point, but I feel that the Goreans(?) are right in this sense. Using someone else’s thoughts in an RP is meta-gaming. The only readers around would be other characters within the story, no? As they said, using thoughts, whether positive or negative, is very discouraged. Let me use your posts as an example.

    “/me grabs my coat as i ready to leave for the day opening the door i see the elegant lady walk past me thinking she was quite a snobby bitch today i calmly say least wanting tobe proper “have a good night” before heading out the door to head home..”

    Now, sure, anyone not involved in the RP will know that peasant is clearly cross with the woman. But, what will the woman do? She can’t do a thing about that, because she does not know what the peasant is thinking. However, the player of her character sees that, and simply shrugs it off. I agree that roleplaying is much like writing a book, but at the same time it is much different. You must act as your character would. Your thoughts are never projected, are they? Instead of adding in, ” thinking she was quite a snobby bitch today,” why not instead have the peasant shoot glares or give a false smile to the woman? Or, if he intends on being proper, the unedited post without the thoughts within is completely correct. Thoughts do not portray emotions, actions do! 😀

    • i do agree while profanity does bring a bad tone even in books! simple things that are not profanity can still give same outcome.. IE role-playing your still writing a story. Its text In character emotions you still need to show even if ie by meta-gaming the opposing cannot react.. But two good role players this wouldn’t be an issue. ^^ I dont claim tobe the best role player probably slightly above average but think is wrong when you cannot show feelings and emotions about another obviously my example was terrible too and lacked alot from what would of been the elegant lady in my dirty quick example

  2. python13579 says:

    You can always show emotions without needing to let someone into someone else’s mind. Just think, what would you do in the situation? If someone made you happy, you’d smile! Sad or angry, you’d frown. And so on for the other plethora of emotions we have! Of course, with two good roleplayers, this isn’t an issue at all, but within something like Second Life, everyone in an area is reading what you’re saying. So the ethics will need a bit of tweaking. There is etiquette for a duo RPing and a group, or those on something akin to an MMORPG. All in all, my opinion is just that putting thoughts into a group RP is a very tantalizing bait for meta-gaming, but with a small, organized or controlled group, it is likely fine. :3

    • Secondlife mmorpg is hard todo that ^^ but i love the input 😀 Obviously the tough question is how do you rp smiling even if you despise the opposing player.. ICly that is oocly you might get along with them fine… Great input and things to think about to improve my and everyones rp!

  3. symplysilent says:

    Hi; Your post was very interesting. I appreciate what you shared. Thank you, Silent

  4. arkansasrose says:

    I agree with some of the comments made. The only ones reading are the characters within the RP. If you are to stay true to the scene, writing thoughts is out of place. If we are in the same room I cannot read your thoughts. The only way I would know your feelings is if you expressed them verbally or through facial and body language.

    /me Looks with disdain upon the lady, for want of proper etiquette gives a polite though curt “Have a good night”

Leave a Reply

